logo
Home      Skip Navigation LinksResearch Resources      Subject Guides      Small Claims
Print Share This Page

Small Claims

 

This list contains resources on the topic of Small Claims Court procedure. The monetary limit for actions conducted in Small Claims Court is $25,000.

 

Selected Books And Articles

Provincial Court Small Claims Handbook    (KN352 P76 C65)
This looseleaf text contains a discussion of small claims court procedures and includes forms and precedents.

Small Claims    (KN352 S62 C65 2005)
Seminar materials on small claims matters.

Small Claims Act and Rules, Annotated     (KN352 S624)
Contains an annotated version of the act and rules. It also includes forms.

Small Claims Court, 1994: Rules Judicially Considered    (KN352 S61 C65 1994 Supp)
An overview of the small claims process. The Supplement contains unreported cases from 1988-1994 of judicially considered rules referred to in the course materials.

Small Claims Court for the Everyday Canadian    (KN352 C44 2000)
A step-by-step guide through the small claims court process for a non-lawyer.

Small Claims Practice Manual    (KN352 S62 1999)
This guide reproduces the rules and forms with brief explanations.

Legislation

Small Claims Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, c. 430

Small Claims Court Rules 
The Small Claims Rules are made pursuant to the Court Rules Act.

Links

Dial-A-Law (Canadian Bar Association - BC Branch)
604-687-4680 or 1-800-565-5297
Information on Small Claims Court procedures can be found in the "Small Claims Court" subject area.

Provincial Courthouses Directory
Use to find Small Claims Court locations.

Small Claims Court
Website maintained by the Attorney General of B.C. Provides general information on court procedure, access to pdf -programmed forms and links to the full text of the Small Claims Rules.

Small Claims Court Filing Assistant
Provides a convenient means of completing Small Claims Court forms online.

Small Claims Matters
On the Provincial Court website. Includes Small Claims Court practice directions.

UBC Law Students Legal Advice Program
Chapter 22 of the LSLAP Manual discusses Small Claims Court practice.

Need Help?

If your local library does not have the source you need, please contact the Vancouver Courthouse Library for assistance.

Feedback

What do you think of our new subject guides?  If you have any comments, suggestions for new subject guides or materials to include please let us know. 

Please Upgrade Your Browser

This site's design is only visible in a graphical browser that supports web standards, but its content is accessible to any browser or Internet device.